Bon Jovi:This House Is Not For Sale [CD]

DVD Wholesale Quick Overview:

The 13th full-length studio release for the New Jersey rock band is its first without Richie Sambora, who left in 2014 (Phil X takes over on lead guitar).

John Bon Jovi is a guy who knows exactly what to give his fans. This House is Not For Sale is exactly what people have come to expect from the band since the new millennium. The album follows a very similar template to recent albums like The Circle and What About Now. The title track and lead single is very similar to Have a Nice Day and We Weren’t Born to Follow. It follows the same Bon Jovi sound and its catchy, their fans normally eat it right up.

Bon Jovi’s 13th album takes a bit of a hit as former lead guitarist Richie Sambora has absolutely no involvement. Phil X replaces Sambora and he really doesn’t do anything to assert himself as a worthy successor. He has a few good moments but he mostly hides behind simple riffs and Bon Jovi’s lyrics. Sambora’s writing is missed as well as no other band member receives a writing credit with producer John Shanks and some third parties getting some credits.

There are some moments in This House is Not for Sale that are memorable and do feel like some new ground for the band but they are few and far between. Bon Jovi’s lyrics are fairly solid through most of the record with the exception of Knockout and Reunion with are full of Bon Jovi clichés. They take up space after Jon Bon Jovi stuck two excellent songs (Teardrop to the Sea and Saturday Night Gave Me Sunday Morning) on a throw away record that wrapped up their contract with Mercury records. Both of those songs are probably better than anything we get in This House is Not for Sale.

This House is Not for Sale will probably impress Bon Jovi’s fan base of middle aged moms, but it isn’t much more than an excuse to go back on the road and make millions on tour.

I highlight: This House is Not For Sale, Labor of Love, Born Again Tomorrow, Come On Up to Our House.

Disc: 1
1. This House Is Not For Sale
2. Living With The Ghost
3. Knockout
4. Labor Of Love
5. Born Again Tomorrow
6. Roller Coaster
7. New Year’s Day
8. The Devil’s In The Temple
9. Scars On This Guitar
10. God Bless This Mess
11. Reunion
12. Come On Up To Our House
13. Real Love
14. All Hail The King
15. We Don’t Run


DVD Wholesale Main Features    

Audio CD (November 4, 2016)
Deluxe Edition edition
Original Release Date: November 4, 2016
Number of Discs: 1
Label: Island

Inquire Now